Disclaimer

Please note that this listing is provided as a sample of external funding and resources that may be available to students, and is provided for your information only. CaPS and McGill University accept no responsibility for the content of the non-McGill linked websites below.

All Items by Category

Internal Sources

McGill - Mobility Awards and Travel Awards openURL
For all full time degree students, Canadian and international, graduate and undergraduate who are participating in a study away program. This site also includes a link to other travel awards.
McGill Student Exchanges and Study Abroad openURL
This webiste can help McGill students who would like to study abroad or participate in a student exchange program what steps are needed to take. Visit the "Financial Support" section for awards and fellowships that may help you to ease some financial burden.

Funding Databases

Pivot Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive global source of funding opportunities. Users are able to search for funding opportunities using a variety of criteria, including research area, discipline, and participating institution. Click the link "Advanced Search" to start your search.
You must sign up to search this database. Choose "McGill University" in the Affiliated Member Institution drop-down box when you create your Pivot account.

Funding Websites

Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC) openURL
The AUCC administers several fellowship competitions and exchanges for graduate study. In most cases, candidates must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada for at least one year prior to application.
IIEPassport Study Abroad Funding openURL
All types of funding programs, for all levels of post-secondary study, across the full range of academic areas.  The funding is for U.S. citizens going abroad.
International Financial Aid and College Scholarship Search (IEFA) openURL
An online database listing financial aid information for students who wish to study in a foreign country.
International Scholarships for Canadians and Non-Canadians openURL
Scholarships for Canadians and Non-Canadians wishing to study abroad.  Many Commonwealth countries offer scholarships to Canadian citizens for graduate studies.
Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE) Scholarships openURL
The CBIE offers a number of support programs that target international development issues, both for Canadians and international students. Scholarship, internship and professional development opportunities are available.
InternationalScholarships.com openURL
An online financial aid database for students wishing to study abroad.
ScholarshipsTimes.com openURL
Providing information about scholarships available across the globe.

Scholarships & Awards

American Graphics Institute (agi) - Design Thinking Scholarships openURL
Offered to both part-time and full-time students enrolled in degree programs at any accredited college or university in the United States. Submit an essay describing how you anticipate design thinking or digital design tools will impact you and your career choice.
Deadline: July 31 & December 31
MLD Scholastic Scholarship openURL
This scholarship is based on merit, financial need and community participation.  Must be currently enrolled at a accredited Canadian or Amerian post-secondary educaiton institution.
Deadline: May 10
Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE) - Grants and Awards openURL
Several grants and awards for both undergraduate and graduate students.
Deadline: December 22
Go Overseas - Scholarships openURL
Scholarships to study, intern or volunteer abroad.
Canadian Cancer Society - Grants & Awards openURL
Awards to PhD or MD/PhD students, and post-doctoral/medical/clinical fellows - Innovation Grants, Impact Grants, Prevention Research Grants, Career Development Awards in Prevention Research, Quality of Life Research Grants, Knowledge to Action Grants, Travel Awards.  Apply: EGrAMS
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) - Awards openURL
Various awards for graduate students.  Both Canadians and Non-Canadians are eligible.
Canada-China Scholars' Exchange Program openURL
Scholarships for studies or do research in subject areas related to China at participating Chinese institutions.
Deadline: March 30
Canada-Mexico Awards for Canadians openURL
The Canada-Mexico awards are based on reciprocal agreements between the Government of Canada and the Government of Mexico. Under this agreement, the Mexican Grant program provides 15 awards to Canadian citizens wishing to pursue studies or research in Mexico and includes the possibility of preliminary language training. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Deadline: October 31
Canada-United States Fulbright Scholarships for Graduate Students openURL
Several scholarships are available to Canadian and American students who want to study or do research in the host country.
Deadline: November 15 (Canadians), October 15 (Americans)
Information for Canadian Students Planning to Study Abroad openURL
Information and links to obtain financial support for Canadians studyng abroad.
Jeanne Sauvé Foundation - Public Leadership Program openURL
A fellowship opportunity to take part of a lifelong personal and professional development journey as part of an emerging global community of public leaders.
LOJIQ Financial Support openURL
L'Office Franco-Québécois pour la jeunesse gives special travel/orientation package to Quebec students who wish to study in France and other parts of the world. Must be between 18-35 years of age, be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. Must be living in Quebec for at least one year. (French).
Prix d'Europe openURL
A prestigious Canadian study grant. Winners of the grant are given a cash prize towards furthering their musical education abroad in Europe.
Société Académique Vaudoise - Bourses Paul Blanc openURL
Offered alternately each year to a Canadian student from McGill or the Université de Montréal for graduate study at the Université de Lausanne, Switzerland and to a Swiss student from the Université de Lausanne for postgraduate study in Montreal. All things being equal, the fellowship will be offered to a student in science. Research subsidies are also available.
Society in Science - The Branco Weiss Fellowship openURL
Research Fellowship for postdoctoral researchers who pursue unconventional projects in new areas of science, engineering and social science fields anywhere in the world, at any institution, for up to 5 years.
Deadline: January 15

Minority & Ethnic Groups

Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) Scholarships openURL
Schoalrship listings for members of the Canadian Black community (Black person, Black/African, Canadian/African, Caribbean/African, African-American). Must be a Canadian or permanent resident.

Women

Delta Kappa Gamma (DKG) World Fellowship openURL
Funding for women from foreign countries to pursue studies in Canada and the United States. Applicants must be female, registered, full-time Masters or Doctoral students. Applicants cannot be a citizen or landed immigrant of Canada or the United States or a Delta Kappa Gamma member.
Deadline: December 15
Graduate Women International (GWI) - International Fellowships and Grants openURL
The GWI offers fellowships and grants to women graduates for advanced research, study and training.

Specific Country

Australia - Australian Government - The Endeavour Awards openURL
The Endeavour Awards is the Australian Government’s internationally competitive, merit-based scholarship program providing opportunities for citizens of the Asia Pacific, the Middle East, Europe and the Americas to undertake study, research and professional development in Australia. Awards are also available for Australians to undertake study, research and professional development abroad.
Australia - Study in Australia - Scholarships openURL
A list of links to scholarships, grants, and bursaries that provide financial support to students who study in Australia. Also, visit: Scholarships
Canada - Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) openURL
Canadian citizens or permanent residents, or holders of a student visa at the time of application, with at least an A average in the last two years of study, for graduate studies (Master's or Doctoral level) at an Ontario university.
Deadline: Mid-November
EU - Erasmus Mundus Programme - Scholarships for students and academics openURL
Funding for any EU country for graduate students.
EU - Scholars4dev openURL
Searchable by level of study, filed of suty and place of study.
EU - Scholarship Portal openURL
This website integrates the funding opportunities for studying, working or performing research in one of the European nations.
France - Campus France openURL
Scholarships and funding opportunities for graduate students wishing to study or do research in France.
Germany - German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) openURL
Funding opportunities for undergradate and graduate sudents wishing to study or do research in Germany.
Hong Kong - Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme (HKPFS) openURL
Established by the Research Grants Council (RGC) of Hong Kong, the HKPFS aims at attracting the best and brightest students in the world to pursue their PhD studies in Hong Kong's institutions.
Deadline: December 01
India - Grants, Awards & Opportunities openURL
Grants are available to both Canadian and Indian scholars.
Indonesia - Darmasiswa Indonesian Scholarship openURL
The Indonesian government offers a scholarship program for foreign students to study Bahasa Indonesia, traditional arts and culture of Indonesia.
Deadline: February 09
Ireland - Ireland Canada University Foundation (ICUF) Scholarships openURL
The programme is for Canadians or Irish from all academic disciplines.
Italy - Italian Becas & Scholarships openURL
List of scholarships for international researchers and students to study in Italy.
Japan - Consulate General of Japan in Montreal - Scholarships openURL
Every year, the Government of Japan (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology - MEXT) offers scholarships to foreign students who wish to study at Japanese universities.
- Undergraduate Student Scholarship. Deadline: June 09
- Research Student Scholarship. Deadline: May 19
Japan - Japan Foundation: Japanese Studies Fellowship Program openURL
The foundation offers 3 levels of support to Canadian citizens and permanent residents wishing to conduct research related to Japanese studies in Japan. For more info, contact the organization.
Deadline: November 02
Japan - Japanese Government (Monbukagakusho) Scholarship Students openURL
Scholarships in most disciplines are offered each year to Canadian citizens who wish to pursue their graduate studies in any subject in Japan.
Japan - Matsumae International Foundation (MIF) - Research Fellowship Program openURL
Fellowships for researchers (mostly post-doc). Fields of study such as Natural science, engineering and medicine are given first priority.
Deadline: August 31
Korea - Foreign Government Awards Program openURL
The Government of Korea, through the National Institute for International Education Development (NIIED) offers up to two scholarships for study at the Master’s or PhD level in Korean studies, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, engineering, and other subjects.
Deadline: March 25
Korea - Korean Government Scholasrship Program (KGSP) openURL
Scholarships for international students with an opportunity to conduct advanced studies at higher education in Korea.
Korea - StudyinKorea: Global Korea Scholarship (GKS) openURL
Various Ministries of the Korean Government run scholarship programs for foreign students and are gradually increasing their quotas. At present, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Ministry of Culture, Sports & Tourism, and Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade run scholarships for foreign students.
Holland - Find a Scholarship openURL
Funding opportunities and scholarships for graduate students wishing to study or do research in Netherlands.
Switzerland - ThinkSwiss Research Scholarship openURL
Scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students wanting to do research a a public Swiss university or research institute for 2-3 months.
Deadline: January 31
Taiwan - Taiwan Scholarship Program
The Taiwan Scholarship Program was established to encourage outstanding international students to undertake degree programs in Taiwan. While providing study opportunities for a wide range of disciplines, at Taiwan's universities and colleges.
UK - British Council - Scholarships openURL
A search engine provided by British Council to find scholarships.
UK - Chevening Scholarships openURL
For Canadians studying at a university in the U.K. Scholarships last up to one year and are typically granted for Master’s degree courses. It is highly unusual for the committee to approve an award for Ph.D. studies. It is open to candidates in the following fields of study: Political Science, Law and International Relations, Media, Economics and International Development.
Deadline: November 08
UK - Commonwealth Scholarships openURL
Scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other commonwealth countries.
UK - London Goodenough Association of Canada (LGAC) Scholarship Program openURL
Scholarships for students who enrolled in an accredited graduate (or higher) program in London or undertaking thesis research in London while enrolled elsewhere.  Must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
Deadline: January 26
UK - Newton Fund openURL
Funding opportunities to non-UK students and researchers.
UK - The Royal Society - Grants, Schems & Awards openURL
Grants and awards to researchers.
UK - Scholarship Search openURL
Search engine for scholarships, bursaries and awards available to students wanting to study in the UK.
USA - Fulbright Canada - Killam Fellowship Program openURL
The Killam Fellowships Program provides an opportunity for exceptional undergraduate students from Canadian universities to spend either one semester or a full academic year as an exchange student in the United States. Must be a Cnadian citizen.  Full-time undergraduate students in good standing.
Deadline: January 15
USA - Fulbright-Clinton Fellowship openURL
Opportunities for U.S. citizens to serve in professional placements in a foreign government ministry or institution within partner governments. Must have a Master's degree with an area of focus that is applicable to public policy, and 2 years of professional work experience.
Deadline: October 13
USA - Training for Success: Sales Training and Development Scholarship openURL
Scholarship for students looking to pursue a degree in business or teaching or have plans to own their own business. Must be a student enrolled in a college in the USA.
Deadline: December 31
USA - Washington Scholars Fellowship Program openURL
The Washington Scholars Fellowship Program is able to help place politically minded individuals in premier internships in government agencies, media outlets and certain non-governmental organizations.

Specific School

Alberta - MacEwan University: Arts and Education Awards openURL
The Ukrainian Resource and Development Centre administers an awards program for new writers, media artists, folk artists and musicians.
Deadline: November 30
Canada - Université de Sherbrooke - Graduate studies scholarship program openURL
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. Grants program that gives a full wage support to M.Sc. and Ph.D. students for duration of their research project and studies.
Deadline: March 01 and September 01
Canada - University of Winnipeg: German-Canadian Studies Fellowships openURL
The University of Winnipeg lists fellowships for students interested or are pursuing German-Canadian studies.
Deadline: April 15
China - Tsinghua University: Schwarzman Scholars openURL
Schwarzman Scholars is a highly selective, one year Master’s degree program based at Tsinghua University in Beijing, one of China’s top academic institutions. Inspired by the Rhodes Scholarship, Schwarzman Scholars is designed to prepare the next generation of leaders for the geopolitical landscape of the 21st Century.
For more info: schwarzmanscholars.org/ | Webinar
Deadline: June 15 (China Applicaiton System) & September 15 (Global Application System)
Hong Kong - City University of Hong Kong: Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme openURL
Fellowship for PhD students, including monthly stipend, and conference and research related travel allowance. Visit the site for details.
Deadline: December 01
India - Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT): Mitacs - Globalink Research Award - MHRD India openURL
Open to senior undergraduate or graduate in all disciplines. Must be a Canadian citizen. Successful applicants will receive research awards from Mitacs and the IIT to cover project related expenses.
November 20
Israel - Canadian Friends of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem openURL
Several scholarships available to Canadian students looking to study abroad at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Netherlands - University Amsterdam: Scholarships openURL
A number of scholarship programs for international Master's students.
Switzerland - Université de Genève: Excecellence Master Fellowships openURL
Grants to students from any university with very good performance in their studies: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Earth Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Computer Sciences, Mathematics, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Physics.
Deadline: March 15
UK - Rhodes Scholarships openURL
Two scholarships are awarded annually to scholars from the Province of Quebec. These scholarships are tenable at the University of Oxford. They are granted for two years with the possibility of a third year. Candidates must be Canadian citizens or domiciled in Canada and must be born between October 2, 1987 and October 1, 1993. Students in any faculty may apply.
Deadline: Mid-September
United Arab Emirates (UAE) - Masdar Institute: Scholarships openURL
The insitute offers Canadian students MSc L& PhD scholarships every year to pursue their graduate education abroad.
USA - Stanford Summer Institute for General Management (SIGM) openURL
Stanford GSB offers offer several funding options for individuals considering the Summer Institute for General Management. Participants are only eligible for aid after they have been accepted to the program.
Deadline: January 27
USA - Middlebury Language Schools Scholarships and Fellowships openURL
Offering a number of merit-based fellowships and scholarships for the summer language schools.  Must be accepted by one of the 10 language schools and meet all additional application requirements.