Disclaimer

Please note that this listing is provided as a sample of external funding and resources that may be available to students, and is provided for your information only. CaPS and McGill University accept no responsibility for the content of the non-McGill linked websites below.

All Items by Category

Funding Databases

Bridge - Worldwide Music Connection Restricted Resource openURL
Online database to grants/scholarships/fellowships for Music and Arts students. The database also provides 3,000+ job opportunities in music and arts administration. Login at Career Periodicals & Databases for username and password.
Canada Council for the Arts openURL
Each year, the Canada Council awards prizes and fellowships to over 200 artists, scholars and organizations to recognize excellence in various disciplines in the arts, the humanities, and the social and natural sciences.
Pivot Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive global source of funding opportunities. Users are able to search for funding opportunities using a variety of criteria, including research area, discipline, and participating institution. Click the link "Advanced Search" to start your search.
You must sign up to search this database. Choose "McGill University" in the Affiliated Member Institution drop-down box when you create your Pivot account.

Scholarships & Awards

Alberta Council for the Ukrainian Arts (ACUA) Awards openURL
The awards are available annually to any qualified applicants (individual or group) who, through an exhibit, tour, festival, educational program or special project, foster a greater awareness of Ukrainian arts in Alberta.
Deadline: June 30
Association of Canadian Universities for Northern Studies (ACUNS) - Awards & Scholarships openURL
The ACUNS and CNST offer a variety of awards in support of northern research at the undergraduate, graduate and post-doctoral level. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant.
- Weston Family Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Northern Research
- The W. Garfield Weston Awards for Northern Research and Northern Archaeology
- For a list of scholarships: CNST Scholarship Page
Deadline: January 31

BAnQ - bourses de maîtrise et de séjour de recherche openURL
Scholarships for Master's, PhDs as well as researchers in these disciplines: literature, history, history of art, musicology, sociology, philosophy, library and information science, anthropology, communications, urban studies and any relevant field. Must be a graduate students enrolled in a Quebec university. (French)
Deadline: March 01 (Masters), November 15 (Doctorate)
Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research (CIMVHR) - Scholarship Opportunities openURL
  • Royal Canadian Legion Masters Scholarship in Veteran Health Research: Scholarships to a Master's level student specializing in research related to Veterans and their families. Deadline: March 31
  • Wounded Warriors Doctoral Scholarship in Military and Veteran Health Research: Scholarships to a doctoral level student researching issues relevant to military members, veterans and families. Deadline: September 01

Consortium national de recherche sur l'intégration sociale (CNRIS) - Bourses openURL
Scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students interested in areas of intellectual disability and autism. (in French).
Dan David Prize openURL
Ten prizes are annually awarded for outstanding doctoral students and postdocotoral researchers for having an outstanding scientific, technological, cultural or social impact on our world.
Deadline: March 10
David Suzuki Fellowships
The David Suzuki Fellowship program empowers emerging scholars to tackle complex environmental problems.  Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. Must be in final year of PhD or PhD graduate (in any discipline).  If you are First Nation, Inuit or Métis - must be pursuing a Master's degree or in final year of PhD or PhD graduate. 
Deadline: January 15
Fondation Desjardins - Scholarships openURL
Fondation Desjardins provides financial support to students throughout Quebec and Ontario. The scholarships range from $1,500 to $10,000 and are available for all levels of post-secondary education and all fields of study.
Deadline: February 19
Fonds de recherche Nature et technologies Québec - Bourses Frontenac openURL
Funding for graduate students at a Franco-Quebec program. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident and not have French nationality. (In French)
Deadline: May 03
Hamilton Community Foundation (HCF) Grants openURL
Scholarships to the following areas: Education, Environment, Arts and Culture, Recreation, and Health and Human Services. Preference is given to projects in Hamilton.
Hnatyshyn Foundation’s Developing Artists Grants openURL
Grants to exceptional young Canadians in post-secondary performing arts training programs. Fields: Classical music (orchestral instrument and piano), classic voice, jazz, classical ballet, contemporay dance, acting (Engslish theatre and French theatre).
Jeanne Sauvé Foundation - Public Leadership Program openURL
A fellowship opportunity to take part of a lifelong personal and professional development journey as part of an emerging global community of public leaders.
Jewish Community Foundation of Montreal (JCF) - Scholarships & Grants openURL
JCF administers dozens of scholarship funds supporting various fields of endeavor. Most scholarships require applicants to have Quebec residency. Expand the link "Grants & Scholarships" to see a list of scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students, aw well as for a year's study in Israel.
Deadline: March 01 to May 01
Kin Canada Bursaries openURL
Bursaries are awarded annually based on financial need, community/volunteer involvement and knowledge of Kin Canada. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. Full-time study.
Deadline: February 01
McKiggan Hebert Lawyers - End Distracted Driving Scholarship openURL
Submit an essay about your experience with Distracted Driving to win a scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students currently enrolled at or accepted to an accredited university in Canada. Must be a Canadian or permanent resident.
Deadline: August 01

MLD Scholastic Scholarship openURL
This scholarship is based on merit, financial need and community participation.  Must be currently enrolled at a accredited Canadian or Amerian post-secondary educaiton institution. Must be a Canadian or American citizen to apply.
Deadline: May 10
Mothers against Drunk Driving (MADD) Canada Bursary Fund openURL
The bursary fund is for Canadian students who have had a parent or guardian killed in an impaired‐driving related crash and who are pursuing any full‐time, post‐secondary educational program.
Deadline: May 31
Pro Stock Hockey Student Athlete Scholarship openURL
To qualify, undergraduate or graduate students must attend an accredited college or university and play for the school’s hockey team.
Deadline: August 01
SB Artists Management - Adilia Alieva International Piano Competition openURL
Piano competition in France and Switzerland. The competition takes place in May.
Registration: April 15
Storwell Self Storage's Foster Children Bursary openURL
Storwell offers an annual bursary to support foster children to help them attend post-secondary schools and to offer a hand up as they make their way forward in life.  Applicant must have been a foster child with an official Canadian or American foster care program.  Must be a Canadian or American Citizen or Permanent Resident.
Deadline: December 15
Superkutz Scholarship Foundation openURL
Scholarships to deserving students from the Greater Montreal area on the basis of both academic achievement AND financial need.  Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant residing in Quebec and no older than 25 years old.  Must be registered for full-time post-secondary studies in an undergraduate university program.
Deadline: October 15
True Sport - Lyle Makosky Values and Ethics in Sport Fund openURL
This national sport studies scholarship is intended to stimulate thoughtful examination of values-based and ethical sport.  Must be a high-performance athlete enrolled at a Canadian university, community college or other post-secondary educational institution.
Deadline: April 30
True Sport Foundation - Lyle Makosky Values and Ethics in Sport Fund openURL
This national sport studies scholarship is intended to stimulate thoughtful examination of values-based and ethical sport.. Must be enrolled at a Canadian university. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. Must be active in Canadian sport; as an athlete, practitioner or educator.
Deadline: April 30

Aboriginal Students

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada - Aboriginal Bursaries Search Tool openURL
The Aboriginal Bursaries Web site is a searchable list of bursaries, scholarships and incentives across Canada, offered by governments, universities and colleges, private and public companies, individual Canadians, organizations and others.
Aboriginal Learning Links openURL
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada electronic guide to quickly access a national directory comprising of organizations and institutions that offer more than 500 awards.
McGill First Peoples' House - Scholarships and Bursaries openURL
There are numerous scholarships available to Native students. Various organizations are offering their support in order to facilitate life in university and ease financial predicaments.

Disabilities

Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC) openURL
Scholarships for blind, deaf-blind or partially sighted students. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. Full-time studies. Application is open in February.
Crohn’s and Colitis Canada - AbbVie IBD Scholarship Program openURL
Scholarships to students living with Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis. Must be enrolled in a Canadian post-secondary educational institute. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Deadline: June 01
DisabilityAwards.ca openURL
A portal to awards and scholarships for students with disabilities studying at Canada's colleges and universities.
Gaulin Foundation - Sarah Gaulin Memorial Scholarship openURL
A national scholarship that promotes the resilience of individuals with mental illness pursuing post-secondary education.  Applicants must have an ongoing mental health condition for a min. of 2 years.  Must be registered in and returning to a full-time program of study an an accredited Canadian post-secondary university or college.  Must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
Deadline: April 01
Lime Connect Scholarship Program openURL
Lime Connect offers a wide range of opportunities for both students and alumni with disabilities via The Lime Network. Scholarships from Google, IBM, BMO and TD.
NEADS Financial Aid Directory openURL
Awards, scholarships and other governmenta programs for Canadian college and university students with disabilities/special needs.

Minority & Ethnic Groups

Basilicata Cultural Society of Canada Scholarship openURL
The Basilicata Cultural Society of Canada offers scholarships, to all student residents of Canada of Basilicata origins attending post-secondary schools (Colleges or Universities) in Canada.
Deadline: September 01
Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) Scholarships openURL
Schoalrship listings for members of the Canadian Black community (Black person, Black/African, Canadian/African, Caribbean/African, African-American). Must be a Canadian or permanent resident.
Black Foundation of Community Networks (BFCN) - Scholarshp Directory openURL
The BFCN Scholarship Directory is an annual free resource created by the Black Foundation of Community Networks. This directory is a detailed and easy-to-use compilation of over 40 scholarships, bursaries and awards primarily for Black Canadian students pursuing post-secondary education in Canada.
Canadian Italian Business and Professional Association (CIBPA) Bursary Program openURL
The CIBPA Bursary Program is open to full time university students at the undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate studies level. Must be a Canadian citizen, a resident in Québec and of italian origin.
Deadline: September 30
Foundation of the Canadian Lebanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FCCICL) - Scholarships openURL
Open to all Canadian-Lebanese university students who are registered at a Quebec University who are either Canadian citizens or hold the status of Canadian resident, and who have successfully completed at least the first year of their University program. A combination of academic excellence and financial need are the primary criteria for awards.
Deadline: February 23
Foundation of the Canadian Lebaness Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FCCICL) Scholarships openURL
Students should be Canadian citizens or legal residents and of Lebanese origin. Candidates much have completed the 1st year of their program before applying.
Deadline: February 13
Foundation to Commemorate Chinese Railroad Workers in Canada - James Pon Memorial Award openURL
Submit an essay about the history of Chinese people in Canada and their contributions to the construction of the railroad and to this country; and how this relates to your family's history and experience of being in Canada. Must be enrolled in a post-secondary education program in Canada.
Deadline: May 31
Korean Canadian Scholarship Foundation openURL
Scholasrhips and bursaries to students in financial need.
Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute openURL
Several awards for Canadian students writing topics relevant to India. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
St. Andrew's Society of Montreal - Educational Aid openURL
The St. Andrew’s Society of Montreal provides educational aid to qualified students of Scottish ancestry by means of bursaries and scholarships.
Deadline: May 30 / October 31

LGBTQA

Start Proud - Student Leadership Scholarship openURL
Scholarships for LGBTQA+ post-secondary students. Must be a legal resident of Canada.
Deadline: March 23

Women

Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) Fellowships and Awards Program openURL
For graduate women enrolled in Masters or PhD studies in Canada or abroad. Applicants must have Canadian Citizenship or permanent resident status in Canada.
Graduate Women International (GWI) - International Fellowships and Grants openURL
The GWI offers fellowships and grants to women graduates for advanced research, study and training.
Montreal Lakeshore University Women’s Club (MLUWC) Scholarships openURL
Two scholarships to female university students.  Must be enrolled, full-time, in an undergraduate or graduate program at a Quebec university.  Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and a resident of West Island for at least one year.
Deadline: March 01
P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship openURL
P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship (IPS) Fund provides scholarships for international women students to pursue graduate study in the United States and Canada.  Open to International students only.
Soroptimist Foundation of Canada - Grants for Women Award openURL
Grants for women enrolled in graduate programs of studies (Masters or PhD) or professional programs at a similar level (medicine, law) at accredited universities all across Canada.