Disclaimer

Please note that this listing is provided as a sample of external funding and resources that may be available to students, and is provided for your information only. CaPS and McGill University accept no responsibility for the content of the non-McGill linked websites below.

All Items by Category

Funding Databases

Pivot Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive global source of funding opportunities. Users are able to search for funding opportunities using a variety of criteria, including research area, discipline, and participating institution. Click the link "Advanced Search" to start your search.
You must sign up to search this database. Choose "McGill University" in the Affiliated Member Institution drop-down box when you create your Pivot account.

Scholarships & Awards

Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) - Excellence Program openURL
Scholarships for graduate students in the field of finance, insurance, law, criminology, administration, governance, economics, ethics, accounting, education, consumption and securities. To learn more:
Deadline: April 15 and October 15
Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS) - Grants and Fellowships openURL
Aims to foster, develop and support Ukrainian studies in Canada and internationally.  CIUS offers grants to researchers, postdoctoral fellowship, graduate fellowships (to master’s and doctoral students) and scholarships to undergraduate students. Subjects: Education, History, Law, Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences, Women's Studies, Library Sciences, Humanities, Political Sciences, Economics.
Deadline: March 01
Canadian Japanese Mennonite Scholarship openURL
A scholarship available to students enrolled in a graduate degree program in Canada, doing research on the protection of minority and human rights in Canada in order to reduce the potential for abuse of cultural minorities.
Deadline: April 01
Canadian Northern Studies Trust (CNST) - Awards Program openURL
The CNST offers a variety of awards in support of northern research at the undergraduate, graduate and post-doctoral level. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant.
For a list of scholarships: Awards
Deadline: January 29

Consortium national de recherche sur l'intégration sociale (CNRIS) - Bourses openURL
Scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students interested in areas of intellectual disability and autism. (in French).
Dalton Camp Award openURL
Established by Friends of Canadian Broadcasting. The award will go to the winner of an essay competition on the link between democracy and the media in Canada. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Deadline: December 01
Dan David Prize openURL
Ten prizes are annually awarded for outstanding doctoral students and postdocotoral researchers for having an outstanding scientific, technological, cultural or social impact on our world.
Deadline: March 10
Handel Law Firm Tort Law and Evidence Scholarship openURL
This scholarship is for students enrolled in the 3rd year of a Juris Doctor program in the Faculty of Law at any accredited Canadian university who best demonstrates financial need and excellence in Tort Law and Evidence based on courses taken throughout the Juris Doctor program.
Deadline: May 31
Jeanne Sauvé Foundation - Public Leadership Program openURL
A fellowship opportunity to take part of a lifelong personal and professional development journey as part of an emerging global community of public leaders.
Jewish Community Foundation of Montreal (JCF) - Scholarships & Grants openURL
JCF administers dozens of scholarship funds supporting various fields of endeavor. Most scholarships require applicants to have Quebec residency. Expand the link "Grants & Scholarships" to see a list of scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students, and scholarships for study in Israel.
Deadline: May 01
Kin Canada Bursaries openURL
Bursaries are awarded annually based on financial need, community/volunteer involvement and knowledge of Kin Canada. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. Full-time study.
Deadline: February 01
McGurk Fraese Family Law Scholarship openURL
Submit an essay proposing practical innovations or substantive family law reform to win a scholarship. Open to any student studying at any Canadian law school.
Deadline: November 5
McKiggan Hebert Lawyers - End Distracted Driving Scholarship openURL
Submit an essay about your experience with Distracted Driving to win a scholarships for both undergraduate and graduate students currently enrolled at or accepted to an accredited university in Canada. Must be a Canadian or permanent resident.
Deadline: May 31

MLD Scholastic Scholarship openURL
This scholarship is based on merit, financial need and community participation.  Must be currently enrolled at a accredited Canadian or Amerian post-secondary educaiton institution.
Deadline: May 10
Mothers against Drunk Driving (MADD) Canada Bursary Fund openURL
The bursary fund is for Canadian students who have had a parent or guardian killed in an impaired‐driving related crash and who are pursuing any full‐time, post‐secondary educational program.
Deadline: May 31
Storwell Self Storage's Foster Children Bursary openURL
Storwell offers an annual bursary to support foster children to help them attend post-secondary schools and to offer a hand up as they make their way forward in life.
Deadline: December 15
Superkutz Scholarship Foundation openURL
Scholarships to deserving students from the Greater Montreal area on the basis of both academic achievement AND financial need.  Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant residing in Quebec and no older than 25 years old.  Must be registered for full-time post-secondary studies in an undergraduate university program.
Deadline: October 01
True Sport - Lyle Makosky Values and Ethics in Sport Fund openURL
This national sport studies scholarship is intended to stimulate thoughtful examination of values-based and ethical sport.  Must be a high-performance athlete enrolled at a Canadian university, community college or other post-secondary educational institution.
Deadline: April 30
Vogel LLP - Scholarhips openURL
Scholarship opportunities for students enrolled in the third year of a Juris Doctor program in the Faculty of Law at an accredited Canadian or American university.
- Vogel LLP Personal Insury Law Scholarship 
- Vogel LLP Family Law Scholarship
Deadline: June 30

Aboriginal Students

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada - Aboriginal Bursaries Search Tool openURL
The Aboriginal Bursaries Web site is a searchable list of bursaries, scholarships and incentives across Canada, offered by governments, universities and colleges, private and public companies, individual Canadians, organizations and others.
Aboriginal Learning Links openURL
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada electronic guide to quickly access a national directory comprising of organizations and institutions that offer more than 500 awards.
Association on American Indian Affairs (AAIA) Scholarships openURL
Scholarships for American and Alaska Native students.
Canadian National Railway (CN) - Diversity Scholarships openURL
Grants to support the post-secondary education of women, military veterans and people of Aboriginal heritage in Canada.
Deadline: December 31
Indigenous Bar Association (IBA) Law Student Scholarship openURL
This scholarship is awarded annually by the Indigenous Bar Association Law Student Scholarship Foundation. Mus be an indigenous law student currently enrolled in law school with demonstrated interest in serving the Indigenous community.
Deadline: June 30
McGill First Peoples' House - Scholarships and Bursaries openURL
There are numerous scholarships available to Native students. Various organizations are offering their support in order to facilitate life in university and ease financial predicaments.
Ted Nolan Foundation openURL
Scholarship awards to assist First Nations women in their educational and training aspirations and enable aboriginal youth of today, to become leaders of tomorrow.
Deadline: June 30

Disabilities

Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians (AEBC) openURL
Scholarships for blind, deaf-blind or partially sighted students. Must be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant. Full-time studies.
Crohn's and Colitis Canada - IBD Scholarship openURL
Scholarships to students living with Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis. Must be enrolled in a Canadian post-secondary educational institute. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Deadline: June 01
DisabilityAwards.ca openURL
A portal to awards and scholarships for students with disabilities studying at Canada's colleges and universities.
Gaulin Foundation - Sarah Gaulin Memorial Scholarship openURL
A national scholarship that promotes the resilience of individuals with mental illness pursuing post-secondary education.  Applicants must have an ongoing mental health condition for a min. of 2 years.  Must be registered in and returning to a full-time program of study an an accredited Canadian post-secondary university or college.  Must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
Deadline: April 01
Lime Connect Scholarship Program openURL
Lime Connect offers a wide range of opportunities for both students and alumni with disabilities via The Lime Network. Scholarships from Google, IBM, BMO and TD.
National Bank - Students with Functional Limitations openURL
Bursaries and paid summer jobs for students with functional limitations. Must reside in Quebec, Ontario or New Brunswick. Full-time or part-time university students registered in a program in a banking-related field (business, administration, economics, computer science, industrial relations, communications, public relations, etc.)
Deadline: February 13
NEADS Financial Aid Directory openURL
Awards, scholarships and other governmenta programs for Canadian college and university students with disabilities/special needs.
NEADS National Student Awards Program openURL
Student awards for students currently registered in and returning to a full-time program of study at an accredited Canadian post-secondary college or university. Must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
Deadline: April 30

Minority & Ethnic Groups

Basilicata Cultural Society of Canada Scholarship openURL
The Basilicata Cultural Society of Canada offers scholarships, to all student residents of Canada of Basilicata origins attending post-secondary schools (Colleges or Universities) in Canada.
Deadline: September 01
Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) Scholarships openURL
Schoalrship listings for members of the Canadian Black community (Black person, Black/African, Canadian/African, Caribbean/African, African-American). Must be a Canadian or permanent resident.
Black Foundation of Community Networks (BFCN) - Scholarshp Directory openURL
The BFCN Scholarship Directory is an annual free resource created by the Black Foundation of Community Networks. This directory is a detailed and easy-to-use compilation of over 40 scholarships, bursaries and awards primarily for Black Canadian students pursuing post-secondary education in Canada.
Canadian Italian Business and Professional Association (CIBPA) Bursary Program openURL
The CIBPA Bursary Program is open to full time university students at the undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate studies level. Must be a Canadian citizen, a resident in Québec and of italian origin.
Deadline: September 30
Canadian-Lebanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry Scholarships openURL
Scholarships available for full-time undergraduate and graduate students. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Lebanese origin.
Deadline: July 31
Foundation of the Canadian Lebaness Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FCCICL) Scholarships openURL
Students should be Canadian citizens or legal residents and of Lebanese origin. Candidates much have completed the 1st year of their program before applying.
Deadline: February 13
Foundation to Commemorate Chinese Railroad Workers in Canada - James Pon Memorial Award openURL
Submit an essay about the history of Chinese people in Canada and their contributions to the construction of the railroad and to this country; and how this relates to your family's history and experience of being in Canada. Must be enrolled in a post-secondary education program in Canada.
Deadline: May 31
Hellenic Canadian Lawyers’ Association (HCLA) - Justice Karakatsanis Scholarship openURL
The scholarship is awarded to two students annually. Applicants must be of Hellenic descent who attend law school in Canada who  have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as well as involvement in and commitment to the Hellenic community.  Mus be a Canadian citizen.
Jiu Ding Scholarship Program openURL
Candidates must be enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program. Must be studying in a university or equivalent institution of higher education in the Province of Quebec. Must be ethnic Chinese. Please contact the organization for updated information.
Deadline: January 05
Korean Canadian Scholarship Foundation openURL
Scholasrhips and bursaries to students in financial need.
Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute openURL
Several awards for Canadian students writing topics relevant to India. Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
St. Andrew's Society of Montreal - Educational Aid openURL
The St. Andrew’s Society of Montreal provides educational aid to qualified students of Scottish ancestry by means of bursaries and scholarships.

LGBTQA

Start Proud - Student Leadership Scholarship openURL
Scholarships for LGBTQA+ post-secondary students. Must be a legal resident of Canada.
Deadline: May 26

Women

Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) Fellowships and Awards Program openURL
For graduate women enrolled in Masters or PhD studies in Canada or abroad. Applicants must have Canadian Citizenship or permanent resident status in Canada.
Canadian National Railway (CN) - Diversity Scholarships openURL
Grants to support the post-secondary education of women, military veterans and people of Aboriginal heritage in Canada.
Deadline: December 31
Graduate Women International (GWI) - International Fellowships and Grants openURL
The GWI offers fellowships and grants to women graduates for advanced research, study and training.
Montreal Lakeshore University Women’s Club (MLUWC) Scholarships openURL
Two scholarships to female university students.  Must be enrolled, full-time, in an undergraduate or graduate program at a Quebec university.  Must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, and a resident of West Island for at least one year.
Deadline: March 13
P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship openURL
P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship (IPS) Fund provides scholarships for international women students to pursue graduate study in the United States and Canada.  Open to International students only.
Soroptimist Foundation of Canada - Grants for Women Award openURL
Grants for women enrolled in graduate programs of studies (Masters or PhD) or professional programs at a similar level (medicine, law) at accredited universities all across Canada.